IT’S ENUGU DAY!

Hello fine folks, yes, yes, I have been gone for a bit, but I missed you all every single day :-), I truly did.

Sooo, Today (well yesterday, Since it’s past midnight now) was ENUGU DAY and it was celebrated at the national stadium, Surulere, and seeing as it’s quite close to where I live and I am from Enugu, I decided to tag along for the view, and boy! what a view it turned out to be!

image

image

image

image

image

There were dozens of colorful masquerades dancing, jumping in the air, gyrating, stamping their feet and executing all manner of fantastic ‘gymnastics’. The various age grade groups and town unions were not to be outdone and put on an equally energetic display indeed!

There were all sorts of eastern delicacies, yum, yum!
It was such a rich and colorful display of the beautiful igbo culture unrivaled by any I had ever seen before, a rich fusion of food, dance, music and traditional attires and you could feel the deep pride the good people of Enugu take in their beautiful culture. It really was a fun event.

I heard most of the masquerades and some of their followers came all the way from the east. Such effort!

image

image

image

image

The Enugu state governor was ably represented by the commissioner for rural development.
It was fun to see ‘kinsmen’ who kept telling me “you’re now a big girl”, since they last saw me years ago.
I took plenty of pictures so I have  put up a few, forgive the quality as most of them were taken from a distance with my phone.

image

image

I will be sure to take my children to this event someday.
Ndi Enugu kwenu ooo!! E kelem unu. 🙂

image

image

image

image

3 thoughts on “IT’S ENUGU DAY!

    • Yes it was, it was such a fun and colourful event, these pictures do not do the event justice at all:-) ,there was so much to see. Thanks for stopping by Chris.

      Like

Leave a Reply

